Top Resources

MEDLINE  - focuses on biomedical research. Use it when you need to find research information on interactions, effects, diagnoses, behaviors, etc. Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts that cover all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, from 1965 - present.

PubMed - Anyone can access this free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Includes access to MEDLINE and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. 

SMART - The Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase ("SMART Imagebase") created by Nucleus Medical Art, provides a comprehensive collection of downloadable medical illustrations and animations. 

Subject Specialist
Picture: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
Wilsonville Librarian
Tel: 503-821-1258

Resources for topic selection
In Clinical Laboratory Science, many of your research topics will be given to you. For those assignments where that is not the case, try Gale Virtual Reference Library. These encyclopedias will give you a topic overview and an idea of information that is available.
Additional Resources
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Lots of full-text. This is a multi-disciplinary database with more than 3,900 full-text journals and covering nearly every area of academic study.
Alternative Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available


DPDx - Laboratory Identification of Parasitic Diseases of Public Health Concern, by the CDC, good for parasitology

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.

Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module
Electronic reference books and journal articles on consumer and alternative health issues.

Microbiology and Immunology Online - an open source resource covering immunology, bacteriology, virology, parasitology, mycology, and infectious disease

PubMed Central 
Includes full text from selected life sciences journals. This is a free digital archive offered by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Sage Journals Online
The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1.

SMART
The Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase ("SMART Imagebase") created by Nucleus Medical Art, provides a comprehensive collection of downloadable medical illustrations and animations. SMART Imagebase contains medical illustrations, animations, and interactive multimedia for 23 body systems/regions and 19 medical specialties. This database contains a growing collection of 10,000 + high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, pathology, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other medical topics. Content is peer-reviewed by graduate level medical illustrators and expert-reviewed by physicians."

Wiley InterScience
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors, featuring content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than half of Wileys journals on Wiley InterScience are digitized back to Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.

Last Updated August 2015