Top Resources
  • Sleep - Joint publication of the Sleep Research Society and the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. (click on Miscellaneous Ejournals for full content) 
  • MEDLINE – an online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts covering all areas of medicine and indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). 
  • Smart Imagebase – Download thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
Wilsonville Librarian
Tel: 503-821-1258

More Medical Resources

PubMed
Anyone can access this free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Includes access to MEDLINE and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. The searching interface may not be as easy as EBSCOhost’s MEDLINE but if you learn how to use PubMed, you can get the same results. No full-text articles but citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or Oregon Tech Library subscription databases if you go in via an Oregon Tech link. Subject matter includes Dental Hygiene, Imaging, Physical Therapy, etc. Limit searches by Clinical trials, RCT, Meta-analysis, Practice guidelines, etc. Content from the late 1940s to present.

CINAHL with Full Text 
CINAHL with Full Text has many full-text articles. Focus is on patients so use CINAHL when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. CINAHL will give you fewer allied health related articles than Medline, but more full-text. It provides full text for more than 520 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL (Cummulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). Dating back to 1982.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence for inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews. Use this when looking for evidence-based information. It also has many clinical trial articles, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. The Cochrane Library consists of: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews); The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition 

Provides full-text access to more than 550 scholarly journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Full text dates back as far as 1975.

Health Source - Consumer Edition 
Provides full-text access to nearly 300 consumer health periodicals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 300 periodicals. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, and women's health. Full text dates back as far as 1985.

Finding a topic
Last Updated July 2015