Top Resources
American Society of Civil Engineering Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text. Over 73,000 papers from American Society of Civil Engineering journals and proceedings. Allows you to locate articles across all areas of civil engineering.
     
Engineering Village/EI Compendex Restricted Resource
No full-text. Indexing and abstracts. Find information on all aspects of engineering, including civil engineering.

Applied Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Some full-text. Covers chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics, computer technology, and energy-related disciplines. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements, and more. Covers 1983 - present.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Karen Kunz

Karen Kunz
Librarian (Engineering, Copyright, Grants)
Tel: 541-885-1769

Some places to get started
CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text reference material. Subject areas include: Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering, Earthquake Engineering, Estimating & Cost Engineering, General Engineering, Geotechnical Engineering, Dams & Hydraulic Engineering, Structural Engineering, Transportation Engineering. Features the Civil Engineering Handbook.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes titles such as: Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann, McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Tour of CRCnetBASE
More Resources
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Lots of full-text. This is a multi-disciplinary database with more than 3,900 full-text journals and covering nearly every area of academic study.

TRB Publications Index

Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) Unrestricted Resource
A free bibliographic database offering over 200,000 records of all publications by American Society of Civil Engineers. It is updated at the end of each month. The Oregon Tech Library's ASCE Library is the same but with full-text.     

Trail: Technical Report Archive & Image Library Unrestricted Resource
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.

Design Ground Motions Unrestricted Resource
Engineers should use these maps and tools for seismic design, not the hazard maps available elsewhere on the USGS website
Library Books
Popular books in the Oregon Tech Reference stacks are:
  • International Building Code, TH420 .I581
  • International Fire Code, TH420 .I584
  • RS Means Construction Costs Series
  •       Square Foot Costs, TH435 .M44
  • Structural Steel Designer's Handbook, TA684 .S79

Popular books in the Oregon Tech Book stacks are:
  • FE Review Manual: Rapid Preparation for the General Fundamentals of Engineering exam, TA159 .L5733 2000
  • Environmental Engineering and Sanitation, TD145 .S24 1992
  • Surface Water-Quality Modeling, TD365 .C48 1997
  • Principles of Highway Engineering and Traffic Analysis, TE147 .M28 2005
  • Bridge Engineering: Design, Rehabilitation, and Maintenance of Modern Highway Bridges, TG300 .T66 1995
  • The Straw Bale House, TH4818.S77 B35 1994
  • Alternative Construction: Contemporary Natural Building Methods, TH146 .A48 2000
Minimum Design Load for Buildings and Other Structures
ASCE/SEI 7-16
    ASCE

ASCE/SEI 7-10
    ASCE
    EBSCO Ebooks
    Ebook Central (don't use Firefox)
    REF TH851 .M56 2010

ASCE/SEI 7-05
     ASCE

ASCE/SEI 7-02
    ASCE
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Last Updated October 2017