Top Sources
Academic Search Complete - a good place to start research, select a topic, or narrow one down. Includes scholarly articles in nearly every area of academic study

CQ Researcher - in-depth analyses of the controversial topics of the day by veteran journalists. Very good source for selecting a topic, for formulating a question related to the topic, and for finding pro and con arguments on the subject

Academic OneFile - another good starting point. You can choose from a variety of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
Wilsonville Librarian
Tel: 503-821-1258

Picture: Alla Powers

Alla Powers
Reference Coordinator
Tel: 541-885-1774

More Sources
Opposing Viewpoints in Context - good source of full text material for an argumentative paper; pro- and con arguments for the current topics in the news

Gale Student Resources in Context - contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events.  Search for full-text articles from  magazines and academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites

LexisNexis Academic - full-text articles on a wide range of news from regional, state, national, and international publications. Can be also used for finding business and legal information

Credo Reference - an online reference collection that includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations. Use this source for finding background information on your topic, for clarifying word definitions, for quick facts and statistics

 
Last Updated October 2015