Top Picks
Archives West: provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.
Oregon Newspaper Project: This freely accessible resource provides access to historical Oregon Newspapers from 1860 to 1922.
PBS Video Collection: Access to hundreds of PBS documentaries including Empires of the West by Ken Burns and others on The Pacific Northwest. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
Wilsonville Librarian
Tel: 503-821-1258

City newspapers covered by the Oregon Newspaper Project
Finding Topics
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Try searching for a region and browsing an encyclopedia, or looking up something that interests you and seeing if it has a historical significance in the Pacific Northwest.
Archive Grid: This resource provides lists and faining aides of what is in archives. You can search by what an archive near you has, or see what archives have primary sources on a general subject that may interest you.
Places to Find Primary Documents
Newspaper Source: Newspapers are a good source of primary information.

 

New York Times: This electronic resource goes back to 1985. The New York times is a good resource for US events, and many libraries have access to older editions either electronically or in microfiche.

Oregon Hertitage: This site has a variety of resources from historic site database to County histories.

Shaw Historical Library: Oregon Tech's Shaw Library hosts a number of electronic resources including the Klamath Waters Digital collection
 
More Resources
Academic Complete Academic Complete offers students, researchers, and faculty both breadth and depth of scholarly e-books in many subject areas from physical sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Academic search premier- General resource for finding journal and other types of articles
American Memory Project - Documents and artifacts from the Library of Congress historical collections
Calisphere- Primary documents about California contributed by 120 libraries, archives, and museums.
Center for Columbia River History promotes the study of the history of the Columbia River Basin through interdisciplinary research projects, publishing material in text and electronic format, sponsoring teacher seminars and free public programs, and developing curriculum.
Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest (CSPN) - dedicated to advancing scholarship on the Pacific Northwest, and the North American West more generally, with an emphasis on historical research.
CQ Researcher- provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Northwest History Room, Digital collections at the Everette Public Library
Oregon Blue Book, bibliography
Ken Burns documentary on Lewis & Clark
opening screen shot of Lewis and Clark the Journey, part 2Part 1 and Part 2
Last Updated July 2015