Top Resources
Literature Resource Center - full text biographical and critical essays of more than 10,000 authors from every time period and genre, works’ overviews and plot lines, and useful websites. It allows searching by author, title, keyword, and authors by type (literary movement, genre, gender or ethnicity)

Academic Complete - full text collection of ebooks on various subjects. Search for a specific genre, author or title, or browse by subject: Language and Literature. Dowload ebooks to your laptop, tablet or phone for offline reading
Subject Specialist
Picture: Alla Powers

Alla Powers
Reference Coordinator
Tel: 541-885-1774

Some Places To Get Started
Academic Search Premier - a multidisciplinary database with citations and some full text articles from journals, including those in literary studies. It searches for periodicals, books, and primary source documents

Academic OneFile - use its advanced search option to find criticism about a particular author's works. Select "critical essay" as a document type
More Resources
Literary Resources on the Net - a very comprehensive coverage of literary web sites. Links to literary criticism, guides, bibliographies, newsgroups, electronic journals, and literary texts

Internet Public Library Literary Criticism -  critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period

Project Gutenberg - the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks: fiction and reference

The Online Books Page - an index of thousands of online books available on the Internet; pointers to online directories, archives of online texts, and exhibits of particularly interesting classes of online books (including prize winning and banned books)

Bibliomania - free online texts of poems, short stories, drama and classic novels by international authors; study guides; reference materials; biographies, and much more

A Glossary of Literary Terms - alphabetically arranged terms and their definitions are subdivided into four groups:  Literary Devices, Literary Forms, Literary Elements and Additional Vocabulary

Last Updated October 2015