Top Sources
Social Sciences Abstracts - covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields from social sciences journals. Relevant subjects include community health and medical care, ethics, family studies, gender studies, psychology, public welfare, social work, and sociology.

PsycINFO - main source of scholarly articles and empirical research in psychology and related disciplines. Includes articles from medical sociology-related journals.

MEDLINE - covers journals in all areas of biomedical sciences, including medical sociology.


 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Alla Powers

Alla Powers
Reference Coordinator
Tel: 541-885-1774

Some Places to Get Started
Credo Reference - search for definitions of the term “medical sociology” in encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in the variety of subjects, including social sciences.  

Academic Complete - collection of full text ebooks on many subjects including medicine and sociology

Academic Search Premier - a multidisciplinary resource with scholarly articles on a broad range of topics in sociology, including medical sociology.

Academic OneFile - another good resource with a variety of scholarly publications regarding medical sociology: journal articles, monographs, and book reviews.
More Sources
Sage Journals Online - full text research database of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in many disciplines, including sociology. Search for articles, book reviews, and editorials in medical sociology.

Wiley Online Library - collection of online resources in many disciplines, including social and behavioral sciences; covers both books and journals; browse by subject or search by keywords.

Global Health Observatory Data Repository - created by the World Health Organization, GHO themes include mortality and global health estimates, substance use and mental health, infectious diseases, and many others. Good statistical data.

Medical Sociology Online - a free access, peer-reviewed journal of the British Sociological Association MedSoc Group, and a portal for news and information relating to medical sociology. Promotes the work of all sections of the medical sociology academic community, including postgraduate students and first time authors, as well as those established in the field.

Program Evaluation and Social Research Methods - lists of free resources:  surveys, focus groups, sampling, interviews, and other methods.
Last Updated October 2015