Top Resources

ASME Digital Library
Access to ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present.

Engineering Village
References and abstracts to more than 5,000 engineering journals, conferences, and technical reports from 1969 - present; U.S. Patent and Trademark Office patent database; Esp@cenet (European Patent Office database); Techstreet database of industry standards and specifications; CRC Press engineering handbooks (ENGnetBASE); and Scirus, a science-specific search engine that searches through more than 167 million science-specific web pages. 

MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE
Full-text reference material. A collection of electronic books from CRC Press. Subject areas include: Automotive Engineering, Combustion, Energy Engineering, Fluid Dynamics, General Mechanical Engineering, HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, & Air Conditioning), Machine Design, Mechanics, MEMS, Thermodynamics, Vibrations.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Karen Kunz

Karen Kunz
Librarian (Engineering, Copyright, Grants)
Tel: 541-885-1769

Picture: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
Wilsonville Librarian
Tel: 503-821-1258

Some places to get started and find topics
More Resources
Applied Science and Technology
Some full-text. Indexes international and English-language periodicals, covering chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics, computer technology, and energy-related disciplines. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements, and more. Covers 1983 - present

ASM Handbooks 
Provides a full-text resource for anyone who works with metals and materials. Includes the complete content of 21 ASM Handbook volumes plus 2 ASM Desk Editions
 

Sage Journals Online
The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1.

SPIN (Physics)
The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) provides current indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. It provides access to more than one million abstracts and is updated daily. Approximately 50,000 new records are added annually. Covers 1975 - present.

US Patent and Trademark Office

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO or Office) is an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The role of the USPTO is to grant patents for the protection of inventions and to register trademarks. The USPTO examines applications and grants patents on inventions when applicants are entitled to them; it publishes and disseminates patent information, records assignments of patents, and maintains search files of U.S. and foreign patents. The Office supplies copies of patents and official records to the public.

Wiley InterScience
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors, featuring content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than half of Wileys journals on Wiley InterScience are digitized back to Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.

Last Updated July 2015