Top Resources
PsycINFO - main source to search for scholarly articles and empirical research in psychology and related disciplines.  Database contains very few records with full-text of articles. You might need to order the desired article from another library. From the American Psychological Association.

PsycARTICLES - contains full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals in basic, applied, clinical and theoretical psychology. From the American Psychological Association.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - full-text articles on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
Wilsonville Librarian
Tel: 503-821-1258

Picture: Alla Powers

Alla Powers
Librarian (Humanities, Social Sciences, Special Collections
Tel: 541-885-1774

Some Places to Get Started


Academic Search Complete - a multidisciplinary database with a broad range of topics in psychology.

Sage Journals Online - full text,  discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in many disciplines, including psychology; browse by discipline or journal or search by keyword, author, editor or title.

Wiley Online Library - collection of online resources in many disciplines, including psychology; covers both books and journals; browse by subject or search by keywords.
More Resources
Social Sciences Abstracts - a wide range of interdisciplinary fields from social sciences journals.

PubMed - includes articles on addiction, biological basis of behavior, health psychology, neurosciences, and psychiatric disorders.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory - use it to determine the status of a specific periodical publication. If you see a referee shirt icon next to a periodical title, it means the journal is peer reviewed. 

Mental Health Resources Online - concise list of online resources and professional organizations in psychology.

Social Psychology Network - links to resources in social and general psychology.

Psychological Research on the Net - online research questionnaires you can take and post.

Classics in the History of Psychology - full-text of historically significant public domain documents in psychology, philosophy, education, and child development.

PsycINFO Playlists - basic and more advanced video guides on the best searching techniques
 
Last Updated October 2015